DAY 38-40

For the last three days Bert and I have been going back and forth to the hospital collecting materials to create an isolation ward for zombies while Beth sets up her lab in another apartment. I have no idea if any of this work will help Beth find some kind of cure or immunization for the virus, but at least it gave us something to keep us busy for a little while. We decided to set up the lab on the floor below mine, and the isolation rooms two floors down.

Two issues have arisen during all this work. The first is that the solar panels on the roof don’t provide enough electricity to power our living quarters and Beth’s lab. Of course Beth’s initial reaction was that her work was of paramount importance and we should just cut the power to the living quarters. My response was to threaten to chuck her and her equipment out the window. The discussion sort of broke down at that point. Bert’s cooler head prevailed, and after calming us down he pointed out that we just needed to install more solar panels or some sort of wind turbine to generate more electricity.

The bigger issue was that I spotted the three assholes watching us. I caught glimpses of their red BMW tailing us between our building and the hospital. Also, there is a triangular shaped building diagonally south of ours that is two stories taller than our building, and I’m certain I’ve seen heads peeking over top of it. They have to be wondering what we are doing, and I can only assume that is what has kept them from attacking us when we go out. Bert seems to be as concerned as I am, but Beth is becoming lost in her work.

Bert and I have discussed trying to approach them, mounting our own attack against them, and ignoring them in the hopes they will just go away. Neither one of us believes that the assholes will just get bored and go away. Our biggest concern now is that there are several buildings taller than ours that could be within shooting distance if they decided to just try to pick us off. We’d rather not try to move as we have already done a great deal of work here, and seeing us moving might prompt them to attack. Neither Bert nor I have any commando training, so we are working on some sort of plan to communicate with the assholes.

Bert knows a little bit about ham radios, so we’re going to go find one tomorrow and try to set something up. Hopefully this will work…

BJ

(To see how the pandemic began, and to meet more survivors, check out my novel, The Immortal And The Dead, on Amazon.com. The story continues in my new novel, Dance Of The Immortals.)

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on November 2, 2014, in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Scott,

    Needed to say it appears you have found your calling…didn’t think I’d be able to get into a story or series having anything to do with zombies. I was wrong. 😏

    • I’m glad you like it. I really am much happier writing and working part-time jobs to pay the bills, rather than working full time at a job I hate and trying to work my way up the ladder. Be careful though, a love of zombies can be infectious, if you start stockpiling canned goods and eyeing inanimate objects as potential zombie-killing weapons, give me a call…

      I’ll encourage that behavior. ;P

Leave a Reply

