DAY 28

I had no idea how much I relied on the Internet for information, or how much easier it was to find the information you were looking for quickly.  Granted, there were times I typed something into the search engine, and then got inundated with random crap I didn’t want.  And there were occasions when I would type in something I thought was quite specific, and then still couldn’t find what I was looking for.  But now, the Internet is gone, and I have to go through an entire book, page by page, to make sure I get everything I need.  There is no jumping straight to the pertinent info, if you skip a page, or even a fucking paragraph, you might miss something important.  True, I have plenty of free time now, but seriously, this is a pain in the ass!

Oh, and let’s not forget that I have to figure out all the correct steps and procedures from a couple of lousy pictures, most of which are in black and white.  No more YouTube videos showing you how to do things step by step, with clearly voiced instructions, and in full, living color.  This is bullshit!  Do you know how many parts there are in a gun?  Did you know that, even when the fucking thing isn’t loaded, the barrel of the damn thing could kill you?  Well, there’s a barrel from one of these semi-automatic pistols buried in the drywall of my living room that proves it’s possible.  There’s a spring inside the gun under a ridiculous amount of tension, and if you’re not careful, the Goddamn thing will shoot the barrel out of the slide like a fucking rocket and almost take your head off!

There isn’t enough weed in Seattle to make this shit better.  Well, that’s not true, there is, and I am so going to plant some on my roof along with whatever else I grow up there.  And I have figured out a way to at least make it a little more difficult to get through the front of my building.  I’m going to pull several cars up onto the sidewalk, park them right up against the windows, and then flatten their tires.  I’ll make them two deep, and that should make it much more difficult to get through.  And if I can figure out how to do it, I’ll find a big-ass forklift and stack the cars three high.  It will require some serious zombie wrangling, but it should make this place much more secure.

Man, I really would like to find someone who could help me with all of this.  There must be people out there who aren’t complete assholes, and who won’t try to kill me on sight.  This would all be so much easier, or at least not quite as annoying, if I had help.  There must be a way to find other people.

 

Barnett Jane

 

(To see how the pandemic began, and to meet more survivors, check out my novel, The Immortal And The Dead on Amazon.com: The Immortal And The Dead)

 

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on November 7, 2013, in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

