DAY 25

The rain finally let up, so I got back to burning bodies.  I can no longer smell them in my apartment; I’m not sure if that’s because the odor is gone from my floor, or if I’ve just gotten so used to it.  It is definitely noticeable on the floors that haven’t been cleared yet, although even on those floors it doesn’t seem quite as bad.  The bodies themselves are still quite gross, but their features are becoming less recognizable, which makes the task of moving and burning them a little easier.

I got to try out the tomahawks today.  They worked much better than the axe, particularly the spiked end, but they were a bit light.  One of the few equations I still remember from my science classes is that force equals mass times acceleration, so I went down to the basement to see if the super had anything I could use to add a little mass to the tomahawks without making them unwieldy.  What I found was some heavy gauge wire and lots of metal washers.  Using the wire, I was able to tie several washers around the center of the head of the tomahawk.  This didn’t add much bulk to the tomahawk, but probably doubled its weight to about three pounds, which in turn will increase the amount of force I can generate and make it easier to pierce the skull.  (Another movie myth: bone doesn’t get any softer or more brittle in zombies)

When the opportunity to use the tomahawks came again after my alterations, they worked much better.  I was able to bury the spiked end in the zombie’s temple cleanly, killing it instantly, and then pull the tomahawk out with little effort.  I am now a zombie-killing machine!  As long as said zombie is by itself, and really weak of course.  Actually, I do believe I could handle a few of the slower moving ones at one time.  If I came across more than a couple of well-fed zombies though, I’m still fairly certain that my best course of action would be to run my ass off.

The only good thing about hauling all of these bodies out of the apartments is that it is keeping me in shape, though getting a treadmill might not be such a bad idea.  My shopping list just keeps getting longer.

 

BJ

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on November 1, 2013, in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

