DAY 24

It rained pretty much all day today.  Since I couldn’t do any burning, I started searching the apartments I had already cleared more thoroughly.  At first it felt odd going through other people’s belongings, even though I knew they were dead.  But then my feelings morphed, wavering from simple curiosity, to a kind of excited delinquency, on to an outright voyeuristic iniquity, and then back again depending on what I happened to be picking through at the time.  The fact that no one would be showing up to catch me in the act probably provided me with a sense of safety and freedom that made the whole experience more entertaining than it would have been had I thought someone could walk in at any moment.

The only items that I found so far of real value (“real value” now taking on a whole new meaning in this new world I’m living in) were another pistol and two boxes of ammunition.  There was also a cleaning kit with the gun, but I have no idea how to clean a gun.  I’m really going to have to find some books on… well, pretty much everything.  It seems that very little I have learned in school has prepared me for truly living on my own.  I had always thought that, “living on my own,” meant having my own apartment, job, life away from my parents; but it turns out that isn’t even close.

Shit, I’ve been trying very hard not to think about my parents.  I’m originally from Lincoln, Nebraska.  My parents, of course, called me shortly after word of the pandemic came out.  But then the virus spread quickly up either coast before moving inland, and cell service became pretty sketchy by the second day.  They were okay the last time I talked to them, but then I became sick, and sort of assumed they would too.  I don’t know now if either of them survived.  I really don’t believe they would want me to risk myself trying to get to Lincoln, even if one of them is still alive, though the odds really seem to be against that.  Damn it…

 

BJ

 

(To read more about this world, and to find out how the pandemic began, check out my novel, The Immortal And The Dead on Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/The-Immortal-And-Dead-Virus-ebook/dp/B00F1JD49O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1383157438&sr=8-1&keywords=the+immortal+and+the+dead)

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on October 30, 2013, in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

