DAY 20

Man, I must have gotten lucky clearing out my floor, because about a quarter of the top floor apartments had zombies in them.  And I’m pretty sure that one of the people living upstairs had been immune, but the person they had been living with had turned.  That apartment was a mess.  And my God, what an awful way to go, eaten alive by another person.  I can, unfortunately, imagine what that is like since I’ve had a couple people attempt to do it to me.  It freaks me out just thinking about it.

As I was working today, I’ve thought about some of the other things I’m going to have to do to survive here.  If I’m going to stay here in this building, and that is the plan, there are a few things I’m going to need, besides more ammo and weapons.  The water has tapered off to a trickle.  I was worried that was going to happen, but I haven’t done anything yet to deal with it.  I think my best bet is going to be to get some barrels to place on the roof to collect rainwater.  I should be able to run a hose from the roof, down into my apartment.

I’m going to have to set up some kind of garden on the roof as well.  Sooner or later the food is going to run out in this building, and then the other buildings nearby will too.  And even canned and dry food will go bad eventually, so I’m going to need other sources.  I’m thinking about setting up some pigeon coops, I don’t know anything about taking care of them, but it seems like a good idea and I should be able to find a book on it somewhere.  I don’t know what other kind of livestock I can keep, or even find, to raise here in the building.

I know there are a lot of things I need to consider for long-term survival.  I should probably go look for a book on that as well.  I can’t remember the last time I looked something up in an actual book, or even purchased one for that matter.  Hell, it was probably college, and even then half of my books were in electronic format.  Saving trees seemed like a good idea, but it looks like they weren’t the ones in real trouble.  I still need to make this building more secure.  So much to do…

 

BJ

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on October 20, 2013, in Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

