DAY 27

Found some good blackout curtains in an apartment today.  I hung them, and then duct taped around the sides to ensure no light could be seen from outside.  Painting over the windows was an option I had considered, but I’d still like to be able to see outside once in a while during the day.  I know I could just open the window and look out, but it’s not quite the same.  I just need to feel that I’m not completely isolated up here, and being able to throw open the curtains and let the sunshine in helps.

I was burning bodies this morning and heard the sound of an engine.  I peeked my head out of the body drop window and spotted the assholes in their red BMW down the alley one block over.  One dumpster was already burning, and I was in the process loading up the next one, so a few zombies had shuffled back into my alley.  Now the assholes know there’s still someone living in this building, but I doubt that they suspect it’s the guy they shot almost two weeks ago; unless of course one or more of them are like me.  I almost leaned out the window and waved to them, but thought better of it at the last second.

The assholes watched the burning dumpster for a few minutes, and then backed out of the alley and disappeared.  I think the zombies are keeping them away from the building for the time being, but I’m guessing they’re going to attempt to find a way to get in; probably in the not too distant future.  I cleared out one apartment on each side of the second floor so that I could have a clear view of each street surrounding the building.  The only real weak point of this building is the front entry; the zombies can’t get in, but with all that glass, it wouldn’t be very difficult for a motivated person to get through.  I’m not sure if there’s any way to fix that, but I’ll have to think on it.

 

BJ

 

(To find out how the pandemic began, and to see what’s happening in the rest of the country, check out my novel, The Immortal And The Dead on Amazon.com: The Immortal And The Dead)

About scottamehlman

Scott A. Mehlman was born and (mostly) raised in Cleveland, Ohio. Having earned both a BS and an MBA, Scott has tried his hand at a variety of jobs without finding one that truly satisfied or engaged his creative impulses the way writing does. He has published his first novel, The Immortal and The Dead, which is the first book in The Immortal Virus trilogy and continues to work on the JAEGER e-book series.

Posted on November 5, 2013, in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a comment